Local Biographies as Published in Goodspeed's History of Southeast Missouri (1888)

Not unlike some published family histories of today, Goodspeed's Histories contained a Biographical Appendix section for each county featured in the book.  Subscribers to the book paid to have their family's history included as part of the book's publication.   As such, each biographical sketch contained  exactly what was written, whether or not all the facts contained in the sketch were true.  Readers of these sketches are reminded never to accept anything at face value and always verify any fact that is presented.

William E. Bell Calvin Kitchell
J. N. Bishop J. W. Lashley
Capt. H. M. Bradley Mrs. Belle Lay
Philip P. G. Carty Eugene M. Logan
J. G. Clarkson James M. Logan
H. M. Collins James Lovelace
Franz Dinger Azariah Martin
William R. Edgar Jefferson D. McClung
Valentine Effinger Dr. J. R. McKinney
John W. Emerson Felix R. Mills
Dr. G. W. Farrar James M. Morris
W. A. Fletcher Wiley O'Neal
W. T. Gay G. W. Phillips
Dr. T. R. Goulding S. P. Rayburn
William Hackworth W. R. Read
John W. Hancock August Rieke
John Hartman Anton Roehry
Robert J. Hill William Ruddock
John A. H. Hogue Cyrus Russell
Hon. A. W. Holloman Judge Theodore P. Russell
Joseph Huff J. H. Russell
Frank Imboden John Schwab
Hon. Peter H. Jaquith John W. Speck
Henry M. Jones E. C. Tual
J. S. Jordan Father L. C. Wernert
Frederick Kaths Isaac G. Whitworth
Judge John Kemper P. W. Whitworth
Joseph Kerchner William H. Whitworth
Dr. C. C. Kerlogon Bernard Zwart
William E. Bell was born in Washington County, Mo., May 20, 1840, and is the son of Milton and Jane (Warner) Bell.  Milton Bell, when a young man, in company with others, was captured by the Indians at Tippecanoe, but was, by the assistance of two friendly Cherokees, liberated, but not before every means of support had been destroyed, as they were traveling down the Red River in a flat boat, which contained all their provisions, money, most of their clothing and many other articles, all of which were destroyed. After being set at liberty, they found themselves 300 miles from any settled point, and were obliged to travel over rough and dangerous roads.  After experiencing many hardships they finally settled in Washington Co., Mo., at what was then the first iron mine in Missouri, and still known as the old Springfield Furnace.  This was also included in Washington County at that time. Mr. Bell's marriage to Miss Warner was blessed by the birth of thirteen children, eight now living; William E, Mary J., Eliza, Thomas M.; Henry C.; Susan; Ingabar and Julia.  Those deceased were named Eliza A.; Catherine; John S.; and Ann.  William E., the subject of this sketch, had very limited educational advantages, and consequently is a strong advocate of the public school system, always lending a helping hand in that direction.  April 9, 1870, he married Miss Lucy A. George, who bore him two children: Harvey L. and Thomas. Mr. Bell was drafted into the Union Army and was conscripted in the Confederate army; but on account of disabilities was discharged from service.  He has been engaged in merchandising, and is by trade a carpenter, but has spent most of his time in farming.  He is a man much liked in this county and has been assessor for eight years.  He is a member of the I.O.O.F. and he and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church.
J. N. Bishop, dealer in stoves, hardware, furniture, farming utensils, etc., at Ironton, was born at Yellow Springs, Ohio, March 6, 1852, and is the son of Noah and Mary J. (McClellan) Bishop. The father was born in Litchfield, Conn. and graduated at Yale College as a Presbyterian minister. He then immigrated in Ohio, where he married Miss Mary J. McClellan, a native of Ohio and there remained for several years. He preached the gospel for a number of years, and was president of the young men's seminary in Connecticut, for some time.  He immigrated to Springfield, Ill., where he remained a few years, then moved to Jacksonville, where he again preached the gospel.  In 1869 he, with his family, moved to Iron County and located in Ironton, where he lived a retired life the remainder of his days. He died in the fall of 1869.  The mother died in June 1872.  They were the parents of three children: Anna L. Smith now resides in st. Louis; Belle Moser, resides in Oakdale, Neb., and John N. who is the youngest of the family.  He was reared, principally, in Illinois, receiving a good education in both the common and high schools. He was about seventeen years of age when he came with his parents to Ironton, and after reaching this place; he attended the Arcadia College for about three years.  He then worked at this trade one year, and then went to St. Louis, where he remained engaged in his trade for four years.  He then went to the Black Hills, South Dakota., and was engaged in mining for something over a year.  In 1877 he came back to Iron County, and engaged in merchandising, which occupation he has since continued.  He is doing an extensive business and is succeeding well. In October 1886, he married Miss Laura Brown, a native of Iowa.  She is a member of the Baptist Church, and Mr. Bishop is a member of the city council.
Capt. H. M. Bradley, attorney and government claim agent, of Ironton, was born in West Jefferson, Ohio, Aug 10, 1839, and is the son of Jonas and Elizabeth (Davis) Bradley, both natives of Ohio, of English-Irish descent. The paternal grandfather was born in Logan Co., VA, immigrated to Ohio in 1800, where the Indians camped on his place when peace was made with them. He was in the War of 1812, and passed his last days in Ohio.  The father of our subject was a mechanic by trade, and followed this occupation all his life. He and his wife both died in West Jefferson, he Feb. 6, 1855, at the age of fort eight, and the mother April 16, 1859, also forty-eight years of age.  They were the parents of seven children three now living:  James W., William L. and Capt. Hugh M. The last named was reared in West Jefferson, Ohio, and there remained until fourteen years of age, when he received his education at Delaware College, Ohio.  In 1857 he went to Dubuque, Iowa, where he studied law for about one year.  He then went to Louisiana, Mo., remained there a short time, being admitted to the Pike County bar in 1859. He then went to St. Louis, where he practiced his profession until the late war.  He then went to Louisiana, Mo. and raised his first company in that place, going out as first Lieutenant.  This was Company I, Tenth Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry Volunteers, and in 1863 it was consolidated with the Twelfth Missouri State Militia Cavalry, forming the Third and the Fifth Missouri State Militia, remaining as the same company.,  He raised his second company at Fredericktown, MO., which was called Company I, Forty-seventh Missouri Volunteers, and Mr. Bradley went out as its captain, serving about seven months.  He was in the engagements of Moore's Mill, Pilot Knob, Patterson and several hard skirmishes.  At Patterson he was wounded seven times by gunshots, a mini-ball passed through his right thigh, and his left hand was shot to pieces.  He was a brave officer and a gallant fighter.  He rode a well-trained horse, and this saved his life many times.  After being wounded April 20, 1863, he filled the office of provost-marshal at Ironton, Fredericktown and Columbia, Mo., during the years, 1863-1864-1865 and was filling the office at the time of being mustered out.  He was mustered out April 5, 1865, and now draws an officer's pension.  After the war he went to Madison County, Mo., where he remained but a short time.  May 6, 1868, he married Miss Margaret B. Grove, a native of Pittsburgh, PA.  To them were born four children: William H., born 15 May 1870; Elizabeth B. born Feb 5, 1872; Ida May born 13 Apr 1874 and Hugh M. Jr., born 9 Feb 1876.  While in Madison County, Mo., Capt. Bradley was given the contract for carrying the United States mail from Pilot Knob to Pocahontas, Ark., and filled this contract until 1868, when his time expired.  He then went to Patterson, Wayne County, and engaged in the mercantile business at that place, he ran three stores at one time. Taking the contract to build eleven miles of ties of the Iron Mountain Railroad, which kept him until 1872, when he came to Ironton and engaged in the law and claim agency business, which he is engaged in at the present time. He is also engaged in the insurance business, representing the Phoenix, of London, and Niagara, of New York.  Mrs. Bradley and children are members of the Episcopal Church.
Philip P. G. Carty, son of Joshua and Charlotte (Mallow) Carty, was born January 18, 1838, in Reynolds County, Mo., but which was at that time Washington County.  The father, Joshua Carty, was a native of Kentucky, but has no definite knowledge of the exact locality of his birth, but thinks he was born near Bowling Green.  He immigrated to Missouri between the age of fifteen and sixteen, and settled in what was afterward known as Reynolds County.  His wife was born in Virginia, and immigrated to this State many years ago, making the trip across the country in a wagon, and first landed in St. Louis when that city was but a village and was settled principally by the French.  She remained there but a short time, when they went to Boone County, where they remained for a number of years.  They then went from that county to Washington Co, or Iron County as it is now called, where she was married to Joshua Carty.  Their son, Philip P. G. Carty, was married on march 4, 1858 to Miss L. Black, daughter of George and Mary Black of Reynolds Co., MO and both of whom are now living.  Mr. Black being seventy-four years of age and his wife seventy-three, and both natives of Kentucky.  To Mr. and Mrs. Carty were born ten children: Josuah J., George W., Andrew C., Philip D., Mary C., Sarah E., James H. (dead), Margaret C., Thomas S., and an infant who died unnamed.  Mr. Carty was county judge in Reynolds County for six years, and received his commission from Gov. Fletcher of Missouri, in 1866.  He has been a farmer all his life, and owns 165 acres of land, 120 being under cultivation.  He and Mrs. Carty are members of the Baptist Church, and he is a member of the Masonic fraternity and also a member of the Farmers' Alliance.
J. G.CLARKSON, one of the county judges of Iron County, was born in Middlesex Co., Va., July 8 1826, and is the son of Joseph and Susan (Games) Clarkson, both natives of Essex County, VA., and both of English descent.  The paternal grandfather, James, was born in England, and came to America during the Revolutionary War as a soldier.  He settled in Essex Co., Va. and worked at his trade, weaving, which he had learned in England.  He died in Essex Co., Va. at a ripe old age. He reared seven sons, all now deceased.  His son Joseph was a farmer by occupation, and grew to manhood in Essex Co., Va. He was a soldier in the War of 1812, and was quite young at that time.  He moved to Washington County, Mo., in 1867, and there died in 1871.  He was the father of three sons and five daughters, two sons and two daughters now living:  James, Joseph G., Matilda and Virginia. Joseph G was reared on a farm in Fluvanna Co., Va. and there remained until seventeen years of age, when he engaged in the sawmill and lumber business, which he carried on in Virginia, until the spring of 1861. He then enlisted in the Second Missouri Cavalry, Col. Radford’s regiment, and served four years.  He was in the battles of Manassas, Fredericksburg, Richmond and the Wilderness.  He was captured in Loudoun Co., Va., and was taken to Washington City, where he was kept a short time, and then taken down to Fortress Monroe, when he was exchanged. He then joined his regiment, and served until the close of the war.  He had the misfortune to have his right foot broken by his horse falling upon it.  He was courier for Gen. Wickam for some time, and while in the service in the Shenandoah Valley, having been sent up to remove a station flag, he became witness of the battle of Shenandoah Valley, without being in danger.  It was a grand sight.  Mr. Clarkson was the man who carried the message to Gen. Jackson.  He expected to accomplish this during the night, but the sun was up before he arrived.  In 1866 he immigrated to Washington County, Mo., where he engaged in the lumber business until the spring of 1871, when he came to Iron County and has resided there ever since.  He also has followed the lumber business at this place, and still continues.  He was married in the fall of 1866 to Miss Nannie Covington, a native of Essex Co., Va., and to them were born three children: J. Walter, Lillie and Joseph G., Jr.  Mrs. Clarkson died in 1875, and in 1878 he married Miss Lizzie Covington, a sister of his first wife.  To this union were born four children, two now living: George W. and Rosser.  In 1884 Mr. Clarkson purchased the Arcadia flouring mills, which he still owns and carries on.  He has a beautiful residence in Arcadia, and has also a store, which he runs in connection with his mill.  He also owns 400 acres of fine farming land in the Arcadia Valley.  In 1880 Mr. Clarkson was elected county judge, and has held the office ever since.  Mrs. Clarkson is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South.
H. M. Collins, proprietor of a livery stable at Ironton, is a native of Iron County, Mo., born June 20, 1855, and is the son of George W. and Tabitha A. (Harris) Collins, natives of Kentucky and North Carolina, respectively.  They were the parents of seven children, four now living: Artemissa, Narcissa. Florence and Hartford M.  The last named was reared in Washington Co., MO., in the village of Potosi, where he received a good education in the public schools, and also attended the Irondale Academy two years.  He was but three years old when his father died, and he remained with his mother until fourteen years of age.  He then engaged in mining for four years, and in 1876 he engaged in the livery business at Bonne Terre, St. Francois Co., where he remained for five years. He then moved to Pilot Knob, engaged in the same business for three years, and from there moved to Ironton, where he is still in business.  He keeps a first-class livery barn and good horses, vehicles, etc., at reasonable rates.  He owns the buildings he is now occupying and, besides this, several houses and lots in Ironton.,  He was married March 2, 1885, to Miss Emily Schmitz, a native of Iron County, and to this union have been born two children, one now living: Emma Ethel.  Mr. Collins is at present one of the city aldermen.
Franz Dinger, probate judge, was born in the Grand Duchy of Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, June 30, 1832, and is a son of Tobias and Christina (Schwiebeinger) Dinger, both natives of Germany.  The father immigrated to America taking passage from Havre, France, in 1840, and landed in New Orleans.  Here one year later the father died of yellow fever.  He was a blacksmith and locksmith, having learned the trade in his native country.  In 1853 Franz Dinger, his mother and two sisters, immigrated to America, locating at Evansville, Ind., thence to Jefferson County, Mo., where they remained until coming to Iron County in 1854.  Here the mother died on May 24, 1888. Only three of her children are now living: Franz, Agnes (wife of John Schafer), and Margaret (wife of Henry Rasche.)  Franz Dinger attended the German schools eight years and private schools two years, but is mainly self-educated in the English language.  He obtained his license as an attorney in Missouri in 1866, and continued to practice his profession until about 1870. In 1860 he was elected Justice of the peace, and has held that position ever since.  April 27, 1859, he married Miss Amalia Weise, a native of Missouri, of German parents, and by whom he had nine children: Christian C., Herman O.F., Edward F., Jacob, Harry A., Annie M (wife of P.A. Calvert), Amelia (wife of Joseph Callows), Bertha and Ida.  Mr. Dinger was elected mayor of the city of Ironton, and has held that position twenty-four years. He has served sixteen years as justice of the county court, having been elected first in 1864, and again in 1866, 1870, 1876 and in 1882 he was elected judge of the probate court, and re-elected in 1884, holding the office at the present time.  He has always taken a great interest in school affairs, holding some important school offices, and was notary public twelve years.  Before coming to this country Mr. Dinger occupied the important position of recorder of titles and drafts of plats in the government office in Germany. His ability to fill the official positions tendered him is apparent in the fact that in 1865 his county was in debt $35,000, and now it does not owe a cent, while the entire school fund of the county has been collected and disbursed without the loss of a dollar.  During the late war his sympathies led him to embrace the cause of the Union and he was elected Captain of Company C, Sixty-eighth Enrolled Missouri Militia, subsequently Company E, Forty-seventh Missouri Infantry Volunteers. He was captured by the Confederates during Price's raid in September 1864, and held as a prisoner until the 3d of October when he was taken to St. Louis and was ordered to take charge of his command.  He then went on to Tennessee and remained there some time, reaching Nashville two days after the battle.  Mr. Dinger is one of the most respected and esteemed citizens of Iron County, and has made an honorable record as a public officer.  He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, I.O.O.F. and the G.A.R., and is at the present time commander of the last named order.  His family are members of the Lutheran Church.
William R. Edgar, receiver of the United States land office, was born in Cedar County, Iowa, September 17, 1851, and is the son of William R. Sr., and Rebecca G. (Tichenor) Edgar, native of Rahway, N.J., and Warren Co., Ohio, respectively. The Edgar family originated from Scotland, and immigrated to New Jersey about 1720, locating near Rahway. The great-grandfather and grandfather were soldiers in the Revolutionary War.  They both died in New Jersey.  The father of our subject immigrated to Ohio when a young man was married in Lebanon, and in 1835 he immigrated to Iowa, being among the first settlers of that state.  He remained there until after the late war, when he came to Iron County, (1866) and located near Ironton, where he died in 1879, at the age of seventy-five. The mother died several years prior to this.  They were the parents of eight children, three now living: Harriet M., Henrietta R. and William R.  One brother, James was killed at the battle of Iuka, Miss., September 19,1862. He was a member of Company A Fifth Regiment, Iowa Infantry.  William R. Edgar was reared in Iowa until fourteen years of age, and assisted his father on the farm until twenty years of age, receiving his education in the Arcadia College and St. Louis Law School, being a graduate of both institutions.  He taught school four years; the last year he was principal of the Ironton public schools.  In 1878 he was elected prosecuting attorney, and was re-elected four times in succession.  He only served six months of his last term, resigning to accept his present office.  He was married October 5, 1880 to Miss Pressia S. a daughter of Isaac G. Whitworth, and by whom he has two children, Maude and William R. Jr.  Mr. Edgar is a man well known throughout the county and is much respected by all.  He has good business qualifications, and will succeed in whatever undertaking he attempts.  He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and is Master of the same.
Valentine Effinger, dealer in fine liquors, etc., at Pilot Knob, was born in Baden, Germany April 15, 1846, and is a son of Sylvester and Magdalena (Seawood) Effinger, natives of Germany.  The father was a quarryman in the old country, and also owned and carried on a farm. Both parents are dead.  Of their family only two are now living:  Elizabeth, who resides in Baden, Germany, and Valentine, who was reared in Germany, receiving a liberal education. In 1859 he immigrated to America, coming with some relatives, as both parents were dead.  He took passage at Havre, and after of voyage of thirty-six days landed at New York.  He then went to St. Louis and to Ste. Genevieve, where he landed.  He remained some time in this county--part of the time on a farm, and part of the time in a brewery. He was married May 18, 1861, to Josephine Motzel, a native of Ste. Genevieve County and of German parentage. To their union were born nine children, six now living: Lizzie, Willie, Henry, Louisa, Valentine and Joseph.  In 1866 Mr. Effinger  moved to Middlebrook, where he remained until 1872, engaged in the brewery business. He then came to Pilot Knob, and engaged in the saloon business, which he has since continued.  He served two months in the State militia, but was in no regular engagements. Mr. Effinger is a member of the I.O.O.F., having passed the chairs twice, and is also a member of the Sons of Herman, has been a member of the town council and city collector. He is a progressive and intelligent citizen, always ready to advance the interest of all public affairs.  He and wife are both members of the Catholic Church.
John W. Emerson, now United States Marshall for the Eastern District of Missouri, was born in Massachusetts in 1830, and is a descendant of the New England Emerson family, celebrated for the education and literary achievements of its members.  While an infant Mr. Emerson's parents, with a colony, removed to Canada, where his opportunities for an early education were limited. While young, he and a younger brother who subsequently became distinguished as a physician and surgeon, found their way back to New York state, where and in Pennsylvania, some of the family and ancestry on the Mother's side reside, and are distantly related to the Seymours and Conklings By his own exertions. Mr. Emerson graduated at the Iron City College, Pennsylvania, and subsequently graduated at the University of Michigan.  He studied law with William M. Moffatt while in Pittsburgh, but was not admitted to the bar until after he settled in Missouri, in 1857, since which time he has resided in Ironton, an honored member of the legal profession. In 1855, he married Miss Young, at Oswego, NY, a member of the Young-Elsworth family, of Revolutionary fame.  Mr. Emerson has filled many important offices, among, which are those of notary public, justice of the peace, United States commissioner, judge of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit of Missouri, and is at present occupying the important office of United States marshal.  Although a man of moderate political views, he has always been a Democrat, and has been a delegate to all sorts of conventions of his part, from county to national. The Forty-seventh Regiment of Missouri United States Volunteers was largely organized by him, and he volunteered as a private in its ranks, serving as such for some time, when he was appointed major, and commanded the regiment during a portion of the Hood-Thomas campaign in Tennessee and Alabama.  He subsequently became colonel of the Sixty-eight Regiment of militia, and commanded the same until the close of the war.  His friend claim that in every position held by him, he acquitted himself with superior ability, which has left on stain upon his record. His health was greatly impaired while performing the duties of judge in a circuit embracing eight counties.  He resigned the judgeship for private life, and for the purpose of practicing his profession.  He has several times declined to become a candidate for Congress. As a lawyer he has few superiors.  He is a deep thinker and a forcible speaker.  He has written several poems, which have attracted favorable attention among literary people.  Among his poems are "Father of Waters", "Sailing Away o'er the Beautiful Bay", "My Home Afar", "My Lonely Heart", "Minnie Bell", "A May Day Intrusion", "Come Gently Tapping at My Door", "Arcadia, The Beautiful", and "Only One Flag", some of which have been published as songs. He has also written a number of essays and addresses, viz: "influences", "Mysterious Forces", "Data and Phenomena", and other subjects delivered at college commencements and on other occasions, have received the most favorable criticisms by the learned and thoughtful.  His residence is one of the most beautiful in the state. It is located in the lovely Arcadia Valley, and is surrounded by the scenery of the Ozark Mountains, and is historical being the place where Col. U.S. Grant was encamped when he received his commission as brigadier-general.  Mr. Emerson has many warm friends, who have frequently urged him to accept various offices, but for many years past he has invariably declined all, with the exception of his present office of United States marshal, which position was given him by the President without his solicitation, and only accepted after much pressure from friends.
Dr. G. W. Farrar, a successful practitioner of Iron County, was born in Perry County, Mo., December 29,1830, and is the son of Miles and Agnes W. (Barnett) Farrar, native of North Carolina and Virginia, respectively.  They were married in South Carolina, and immigrated to Perry County, Mo., about 1823, locating about ten miles from Perryville.  There were five brothers who settled here, and the settlement was known as "Farrar and Abernathy Settlement."  They were among the pioneers of that county.  Mr. Farrar followed farming chiefly, but also followed boating for some time.  He died in 1854, and the mother in 1850.  They were the parents of thirteen children, two now living:  Miles and George W. The last named was reared in Perry County, and there remained until seventeen years of age, when he came to Arcadia, Iron County, and was a member of the first class of Arcadian graduates.  He was then appointed professor of the dead languages, which position he occupied for four years.  In 1857 he graduated from the St. Louis Medical College, and immediately afterward began the practice of his profession at Ironton, where he still remains.  In 1852 he married Miss Harriet P. Russell, a native of Connecticut.  To them were born thirteen children, seven now living:  William H. (of DeSoto), George W., Jr. (of Pilot Knob), Miles C. (railroad and hospital surgeon), and Francis M. (all of whom together with the two sons yet to name are graduates of the St. Louis Medical College). The other children are:  Edward (now in Arkansas, in the lumber business), Theodore P. and Eudora.  Dr. G. W. Farrar is classed an excellent physician, and was examining surgeon for several years after the war, but his health failing, caused him to resign and go to California, where he spent one summer.  He has been a member of the Democratic executive committee for a number of years, and stands at the head as a man of ability and energy.  Dr. and Mrs. Farrar are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, and he has been steward of the same for twenty years.  He is a member of the Southeast Missouri Medical Society, and also a member of the Masonic fraternity.  He helped organize the first Sons of Temperance that was organized in Southeast Missouri.  He has always been temperate, and an abhorrer of whisky and tobacco.  He is one of the principal men to support the building of the large college at Arcadia, which is at present occupied by the Sisters.  He was school commissioner for one term, and assisted in organizing the county public schools.
W. A. Fletcher, county clerk, was born in what is now Madison County, Mo., September 6, 1843, and is the son of Alexander and Nancy (Tallman) Fletcher, natives of Belfast, Ireland and Richmond, Va., respectively.  Alexander Fletcher immigrated to America with his parents when only nine years of age.  They landed at Charleston, S.C. and leaving the family there, he and his father went into the Territory of Tennessee, where they took up land and built a house, intending to go back after the family, but the father died before returning.  Alexander then started to go back after the family but the cholera was raging, and he was persuaded not to go.  He remained in Tennessee, and enlisted in the war against the Indians, he being at that time only fourteen years old.  He also enlisted afterward in the War of 1812-14. He fought through that war, and helped drive the Indians through Illinois.  He was a scout for many years.  After the war he followed flat boating for several years, and was in St. Louis when it was a small trading station.  He located in Madison County, MO., where he followed farming until his death, which occurred in Iron County in December 1864.  His wife died in 1875.  They were the parents of but one child, W. A. Fletcher.  He was in his seventh year when he came to this county.  Here he grew to manhood, received a liberal education, and remained with his parents until he attained his majority, being engaged in farming and manufacturing tobacco. In 1876 he married Miss Sadie F. Ringo, a native of Mississippi County and to them were born seven children, Maude, Blanche, Alexander, Alma, Lena, Dickson and Edgar. Previous to his marriage in September 1864, he enlisted in Company E., Forty-seventh Missouri Infantry, and served about seven months.  He was in the battle of Pilot Knob, and a few skirmishes.  In 1880 he was elected sheriff of Iron County, and re-elected in 1882 as sheriff and collector. In 1884 he was elected county collector, which office he held for two years, and in 1886 he was elected county clerk, which office he still occupies.  He is a prominent man, and has a host of friends throughout the county and vicinity.  He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and his wife is a member of the Baptist Church.
W. T. Gay, manufacturer of wagons, plows, buggies, etc., was born in Devonshire, England, December 25, 1848, and is the son of William T. and Selina (Down) Gay, both natives of Devonshire, England.  The father was a mechanic, and this trade he followed from his twelfth year until his death, which occurred in Ironton, in February 1884.  The mother died in 1885.  Their family consisted of nine children, four now living:  Ann (Mrs. Robert Tetley), William T., Martha (Mrs. John Tetley), and John H.  The father, with his family, immigrated to America in 1852 taking a passage at Liverpool and landing at New York after a long and tedious ocean voyage.  From there they went to Ohio, and located at Bellevue, where he carried on his trade for nine years.  In 1861 he immigrated to St.Francois Co., Missouri, where he purchased a farm, put his sons to work on it, and he carried on his trade at Ironton until the time of his death.  W. T. Gay was only about three years of age when his parents came to the United States.  As soon as large enough he began learning the blacksmith and wagon maker’s business under his father.  He remained on the farm most of the time until of age, when he went into business with his brother, Samuel (now deceased), and carried on the business together about sixteen years.  After the death of Samuel the firm title, became Gay & Co.  This firm does an extensive business for a small town, in the way of manufacturing wagons, plows, buggies, etc., and employs generally about six or seven hands.
Mr. Gay was married December 25, 1871, to Miss Lucy C. Logan, a native of Missouri.  To this union was born one child, Baby May.  Mr. Gay is a member of the K. of H., also a member of the K. and L. of H., and is a member of the Masonic fraternity.  Mrs. Gay is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
Dr. T. R. Goulding, a successful practitioner of Iron County, was born in the city of Lincoln, England, in March 1818, and is the son of William and Elizabeth (Pillsworth) Goulding, both natives of England.  William Goulding was a farmer by occupation, and was a great worker in the reform of 1832.  The last twenty years of his life were spent in retirement, and in writing.  He died at Gainsburgh County, of Lincoln, England, as did also the mother, he in 1842 and she in 1847. They were parents of three children, George (who was killed in the battle of Bull Run), William (deceased) and Thomas R.  The father had one child by his first marriage, which is now living and is ninety-eight years old.  George Goulding, brother of our subject, was the first settler of Milwaukee, and ran the first hotel at that place. Dr. T. R. Goulding was reared in the city of London where he obtained a good education, graduating at King's College.  He then went into the British navy as assistant surgeon, and was wounded at the battle of Acre St. Jean D', on the Mediterranean Sea, November 3, 1840.  He served four years in the navy, then took passage at Liverpool, in 1847, and sailed for New York, thence to Milwaukee, Wis., where he practiced his profession until the spring of 1849, when he went to St.Louis and there engaged in the practice of his profession.  He has been married three times, his first wife Elizabeth Pyecroft, he married in 1846.  One child, who died at sea, was born to this union.  In 1865 Mr. Goulding married Miss Mary A Richardson, who bore him two children, Richard and Naoma.  In 1881 Mr. Goulding took for his third wife, Miss Sophronia Nifong, of Fredericktown.  To this union was born one child, Nellie.  After remaining in St. Louis until 1868, Mr. Goulding moved to Ironton, where he has since resided and where he has had a successful practice, being an excellent physician.  He owns a beautiful home on the side of Shepherd Mountain near Ironton.  He is now building a hospital near his residence.  This is made entirely of solid stone, and has nine rooms.  It will soon be finished and as soon as completed he will turn his attention entirely to the hospital duty.  On a terrace between his residence and hospital are three stone statures: Venus, Minerva and Diana, nine feet high, weighing 5,000 pounds each, mounted on granite pedestals six feet high (100 feet above the valley), the work of Leon D. Pomerede, artist.  In 1861 he enlisted in the Federal service, First Iowa Cavalry, and served until May 1864. He went in as assistant surgeon, and in a short time was promoted to first surgeon, but soon after resigned, and was given a majorship in the First Missouri Cavalry.  He was mustered out in 1864, and was appointed assistant adjutant general of the State, serving in that capacity until the close of the war.  He has been since the war, United States examining surgeon.  He resigned when Cleveland was elected but was appointed again inside of a week.  The Doctor has been a member of the Masonic fraternity since 1846, and his wife is a member of the Christian Church.
William Hackworth, farmer, was born in Lewis County, Ky., and is the son of John and Eliza Hackworth.  The father was also a Kentuckian, and followed farming as an occupation. He came here on a visit to his son in 1888, was taken sick, and died leaving twelve children to mourn his loss.  William remained with his father during his younger days, going to school while living in Kentucky, and receiving a good education.  He married, in 1855, Miss Mary Ann Pierpoint.  He concluded in 1868 to come west, and located in Iron County, at Pilot Knob, where he remained two years, but in 1878 he came to Des Arc and purchased eighty acres of land, to which he has added from time to time about 300 acres of fine farming land.  On his land he has some 200 acres of timber, also fine granite deposits and iron and lead. He also owns large bodies of land in Reynolds County. He entered the Confederate service in 1861, but only remained one year, afterward taking the oath of allegiance, and returning home to pursue his farming interest.
John W. Hancock, ex-judge, was born in Perry County, MO., March 28, 1821, his parents being William and Neeley (West) Hancock, natives of Virginia and Delaware, respectively. They were married in Tennessee, and immigrated to Indiana, near Vincennes, where he remained two years.  About 1814 they immigrated to Perry County, MO., and located about ten miles from Perryville. He was one of the first settlers of that county, moving there when the Indians were numerous and his son, John W., used to play with them.  The father was a farmer, miller and stonemason, and was handy at all kinds of work. He remained in that County until his death, which occurred in 1851.  The mother died one year later.  Both were consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church in which Mr. Hancock took quite an active interest.  They were the parents of twelve children five now living.  John W. Hancock was reared in Perry County, receiving such an education as the schools at that day afforded and assisted his father on the farm until seventeen years of age, when he was employed as an overseer of a number of slaves for Charles Ingram, remaining with him for three years.  He then lived with Burrell C. Potter, engaged in the same business for one year.  While with him, in July 1839, he married Miss Susan Callaway, a native of Virginia, who bore him eight children, five now living: A.C., Lizzie, Mary, William and Martha. After his marriage Mr. Hancock moved to the eastern part of Madison County, where he remained for seven years.  In 1847 he came to Iron County, and located near Pilot Knob, where he engaged in the livery business.  He also kept hotel and carried on merchandising until 1872.  He had in the meantime engaged in building extensively, and was in the sawmill business.  At the last named date he moved to his present farm, where he has since resided.  For the past seven years he has been engaged in the butchering and stock business.  He owns a fine little farm, with good improvements.  In 1860 he was elected judge of the county court, holding that office for five years.  He has also been justice of the peace for nearly twenty years.  Judge Hancock is a member of the Law and Order Society and he and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church South.
John Hartman, son of David H. and Etha (Black) Hartman, was born July 14, 1863, in Warren County, Iowa.  The father was a native of Ohio, and the mother of Arkansas.  The former left his native State when a mere boy, and settled in Iowa, where he remained until twenty years of age, when he decided to move to Missouri, but after reaching this state only remained a short time, when he returned to Iowa.  He frequently made trips from that State to Missouri, but only remained a short time on each occasion, and during his rambles, and after his marriage, he made one trip to California, but returned to Missouri from that State, settling in Iron County, where he has since resided. While in Missouri he met Miss Black whom he married.  She came from Arkansas to Missouri with her parents when quite a girl, and by her marriage became the mother of ten children, seven now living: John, Mary M., Vianna, Sallie, Rosa, Phillip and E.W.  Those deceased are Donnie I., William and Leona.  John Hartman, the subject of this sketch, was married April 14, 1881, to Miss Emily S. Carty, daughter of G.W. and Elizabeth Carty, old settlers of Reynolds County, in which county G.W. Carty was born and reared.  To Mr. and Mrs. Hartman was born four children, all living, and are named as follows; William D., Charles T., Ollice C., and George W.  The youngest is named after his grandfather Carty of Reynolds County.  Mr. Hartman has only lived in Belleview Valley and on his present farm, for the past three years.  He is a young man, and lives on a farm of 110 acres of land, sixty under cultivation.  He teaches school every year, having commenced teaching in Reynolds County, when only seventeen years of age, and taught five years in that county and three in Iron.  He and wife are members of the Baptist Church, and he is a member and secretary of the Farmers' Alliance.
Robert J. Hill, son of Thomas and Hester (League) Hill, was born May 11, 1851, near Bonne Terre, St. Francois County, MO. The father, Thomas Hill, was a native of Kentucky, born in 1804, and was one of that State's old settlers. He came to Missouri when a young man, and settled in St. Francois County near Farmington, where he was married to Miss League. They remained there until 1860, when they moved to Iron County. By this union were born ten children, nine now living: Henry H., James C., Sallie A., Bettie, Robert J., Thomas, Katie, Mattie and Maggie. The one deceased was named Whitmell. Mr. Hill is now eighty-four years old, and frequently makes trips to Ironton, a distance of ten miles, in a buggy, and quite often rides horseback to Caledonia, a distance of four miles. Robert J. Hill, subject of the sketch, received a good education being blessed with good schools in his neighborhood, and after completing his course in the common schools, took a two years' course at the Belleview Collegiate Institution at Caledonia. He has spent his entire time in farming and stock raising and has been quite successful, being the owner of 105 acres of land. He is a citizen who is held in the highest esteem by his fellow men. He was elected to the office of county judge of his district, which position he has held for the past two years. September 21, 1876, he married Miss Allie Cox, daughter of J. T. Cox, and an old settler of Iron County. Three children were born to this union: Ethel, Nellie and Wallace A. Mr. Hill is a member of the Masonic Fraternity, and also a member of the Farmers Alliance. His wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South.
John A. H. Hogue, merchant and postmaster at Arcadia, was born in Obion County, TN., January 15, 1841, and is a son of John B. and Jane D. (Robinson) Hogue, natives of South Carolina and North Carolina, respectively. The parents emigrated from South Carolina to Tennessee, and settled in Obion County, where the father followed agricultural pursuits, and was the owner of several farms. He removed to Dunklin County, Mo., in 1860, purchased a farm, and there remained until his death, which occurred in July 1882. He was a very prominent man in that county, being county judge for a number of years.  The mother died in 1841, and the father married the second time.  He was a member of the Masonic fraternity, and a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church.  He was the father of one child by his first marriage.  John A. and one by his second marriage, who is deceased. John A. was reared principally in Obion County, TN, where he received his education.  After coming to Dunklin Co., MO, in 1860, he remained on the farm until 1861, when he enlisted in the six months' Missouri State Militia.  He served in Company K, Fifth Missouri Volunteers, and was in the battles of Corinth, Iuka, siege of Vicksburg, where he was taken prisoner but was soon after paroled. He then came home, and resumed farming in Dunklin County, where he remained until 1883, when he came to Arcadia and engaged in merchandising.  Here he has since remained, engaged in this business. He was married in 1864, to Miss Rebecca E. White, by whom he had five children, four now living: Cora B., Mortimer S., Maury A., and Iris M. In 1872 Mr. Hogue married his second wife, Miss Dora James, who bore him two children, one now living: Hesman D.  His third wife was Miss Mary M. Howell, and five children were born to this union, three now living: John A., Jr., Rabley H., and Carl. Mr. Hogue is a Mason, a member of the K. H., is a Democrat in politics, and he and Mrs. Hogue are members of the church.
Hon. A. W. Holloman, presiding judge of the county court, of Iron County, was born in Raleigh, N.C., January 1, 1805 and is the eldest of eight children born to his parents, Edmund and Mary (Barrett) Holloman, both of whom were born and reared in N.C.  In 1810 the father moved to Upper Louisiana Territory, as it was then called, and landed at Cape Girardeau in the fall of that year. Here he remained until 1811, and it was during this year that the great earthquake occurred. In the fall of 1812 Edmund Holloman removed to Ste. Genevieve County, where he continued to reside until his death. His son, A.W. Holloman, received the best education that schools at that day afforded. In 1825 he commenced business for himself as a farmer, and also engaged in the sawmill business, which he carried on for several years. In October 1830, he married Miss Lucinda Holmes, daughter of Capt. William Holmes, who came to this country in 1802, before the change of government. To Mr. and Mrs. Holloman was born a large family -- six sons and five daughters--seven now living: John W., Thomas E., Robert F., Joel B., Mary A., Lucinda J., and Josie. In 1838 Mr. Holloman was elected to the Legislature from Ste. Genevieve County, on the Democratic ticket, running Benton or no Benton, and when the Legislature met he assisted in electing Col. Thomas H. Benton to the United States Senate.  At that time the parties were nearly equally divided between the Democrats and Whigs.  The candidate for representative on the Democratic ticket had withdrawn, and left the field clear for his Whig opponent.  Mr. Holloman was induced to become a candidate, and beat his opponent, Dr. Shaw, by a majority of twenty votes. Previous to this, however, Mr. Holloman had filled several minor offices in this county, and served as postmaster under Post-master-Gen. Amos Kimball for several years. In 1846 he was elected one of the judges of the county court of Ste. Genevieve County, and served until the fall of 1849, when he moved to Arcadia Valley, for the purpose of educating his children. Here Mr. Holloman engaged in the sawmill and grist mill business, and united his efforts with other enterprising citizens of Arcadia Valley to build up the county, which was then Madison, but was changed to Iron County, in 1858.  Mr. Holloman was appointed surveyor by the county court and elected at the next general election, and has filled this office ever since with the exception of one year. 
In 1875, in the seventieth year of his age, he was chosen representative in the Twenty-eighth General Assembly, the responsible duties of which honorable position he filled in an able and efficient manner. He cast his first vote for Andrew Jackson for president, and has always been a stanch Democrat. His parents were Methodists, and his mother was a devoted Christian, which led him to believe that her church was right.  In 1844 he voted against the division of the church, but when the division took place he adhered to the southern branch, of which he is still a member. He is now in his eighty-fourth year, is still active, and is at present one of the county judges.  He can ride or walk almost as far as any young man, and even takes delight in getting on his horse and taking long rides.  He has surely been one of Iron County's most important citizens, being always ready to advance the interest of his fellow men and of his country.  He is a member of the Masonic fraternity.
Joseph Huff, circuit court clerk of Iron County, was born in Sevier County, Tennessee November 28, 1838 and is the son of William and Mary (Kear) Huff, both natives also of Tennessee.  The maternal grandfather was born in Scotland and immigrated to Tennessee at an early day. The paternal grandfather was in the War of 1812 and immigrated to iron County, Mo., at an early day, where he died.  William Huff moved to Iron County in 1841, and located near Ironton, where he resided for several years.  He was a farmer by occupation and died in 1886. The mother died in 1887.  They were the parents of seven children, five now living:  Joseph, Demarius, Narcissus, William and Jane. Joseph Huff was but three years old when he came with his parents to this State.  He was reared principally on the farm, until about twenty years of age, when he engaged in merchandising as a clerk, for about a year.  He then entered the clerk's office as deputy clerk, circuit and county, holding the position for about one year.  in 1863 he enlisted in the State militia as first lieutenant in the Eighth Provisional Regiment, and served six months.  In 1865 he was appointed circuit and county clerk, and in the fall of that year he was elected, holding the position four years.  In 1866 he married Miss Martha J. Mayfield, a native of Illinois. Four children were born to this marriage:  Arthur, Charles B., Stella and Birdie.  In 1867 Mr. Huff was appointed circuit clerk, to fill a vacancy, and has held the office ever since, having been re-elected at each election thereafter. He was appointed assessor in 1864, and filled one term of office.  Mr. Huff has been in office most of his life, and has given excellent satisfaction in all cases.  He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and is a member of the I.O.O.F.
Frank Imboden, son of George and Betsey A. (Hughes) Imboden, was born September 1, 1856, in Maries County, MO. The father, George Imboden, was a native Virginian, who immigrated to Missouri about the year 1827. At that early day railroads and steamboats were almost unknown and the long and tedious trip across the country was made in wagons.  After reaching Missouri, they settled in Iron County, but were then called Washington County; here his parents lived the balance of their lives.  In Iron County George Imboden grew to manhood, and here he married Betsey Hughes.  Two years later they moved to the northern part of the State, settling in Maries County, and are living there at the present, the father being sixty-eight years old and the mother sixty-three.  They are the parents of nine children, all now living, and the youngest twenty-five years of age.  They are named as follows: James W., John H., Thomas V., George W., Joseph S., Benjamin Franklin, Columbus A., Eliza A., and Alberten.  Frank Imboden was married October 5, 1875, to Miss Virginia Lucas, daughter of Philip and Bettie Lucas, and the result of this union was the birth of five children, all living:  Dosia, Lettie, Arthur, Calra and Zora. Mr. Imboden has lived in Washington and Iron Counties since January 1875, and has been on the farm, where he now lives, for the past nine years.  He is a member of the Farmers' Alliance, and he and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church South.
Hon. Peter H. Jaquith, merchant and postmaster at Pilot Knob, was born in Oswego County, NY, September 24, 1830, and is the son of John W and Mary C.(Henderson) Jaquith, both natives of the State of NY.  The Jaquith family is of French extraction, the great-grandfather having come from France about the time of the old Revolution, and located near Boston, Mass. The paternal grandfather was born in Vermont, and immigrated to the State of New York in 1820, where he died about 1836.  John W. Jaquith, father of our subject, was a farmer by occupation and followed this the principal part of his life. He immigrated to Wisconsin in 1866, and there died in 1872. The mother died in 1877. Of the five children born to their union, four are now living: Peter H., Jennie, Alfred L., and Mary C.   Peter H. was reared on a farm in Oswego County, NY and there remained until twenty one years of age.  In 1852, he came west, and roamed from one place to another until 1858, when he located at Pilot Knob, and engaged in merchandising, which he has since carried on.  During Price's raid he suffered great loss, being cleaned out almost entirely by the Confederate soldiers. As soon as he could, he fitted up another stock, and has since been very successful.  He was married in 1853, to Miss Marie Marvin, of Oneida County, NY., who bore him two children, one of whom is now living,  Mrs. Ada Countryman, of Denver, Colo.  He was married the second time in 1862 to Miss Caroline Hollatz, who was of German parentage, and who bore him four children; Clara (Mrs. J. K. Pogue), Alfred Co., John and Alma.  In 1860 Mr. Jaquith was elected justice of the peace, and one year later he was appointed postmaster, holding the position until 1865. In 1866 he was elected to represent the judge of the county court, but before his term was out he resigned, and in 1872 was appointed postmaster at Pilot Knob, and has held that position ever since.  He has been a very prominent man in politics, and takes a deep interest in all public affairs of any importance.  He owns considerable property in Pilot Knob and affiliates with the Baptist congregation.
Henry M Jones is the son of Julius A and Martha (Walker) Jones, who. During the year 1826, moved from Mecklenburg County, N.C. to Madison County, TN, bringing with them three children.  Two others were born to them in their new home. Their vocation was agriculture. The father dying in 1831, the mother was left to provide for the family as best she could.  After providing subsistence, very little could be done in the way of education, with the scanty facilities at that early day in this respect.  However, they were all taught something of the three R's. The mother lived to see them all grown and settled in life, dying in August 1877, in the eightieth year of her age.  Henry, they youngest of the family and the subject of this sketch, was born February 6, 1830.  On attaining his twentieth year he resolved to supplement his limited education with additional acquirements. To this end he attended and taught school alternately during four years.  He then studied medicine, and graduated from the medical department of the University of Nashville, in 1857,being awarded the prize ($50) for passing the best examination on anatomy.  Dr. Jones located in Gibson Co., TN, until the fall of 1859, when he moved with his wife and one child (he having married Miss Mary J Bidley, of Rutherford Co., TN, April 21, 1858) to Jackson Co., AR, where he continued to practice his profession seven years, being connected during a part of the year 1862 with a Confederate regiment as assistant surgeon. In the fall of 1866, being stimulated by the high prices then prevailing, of farm products, and believing that he could attain to a more independent condition in life, he bought a tract of land containing 680 acres for $17,000, on credit of four years, and went to work, abandoning medicine.  He paid for his first purchase, and has since increased his estate to 2,800 acres; and, from a cultivated acreage of 235 acres at the start, he now has 1,000 acres in one body under cultivation, which he rents to tenants, he having moved to Ironton, Mo. in 1874, for better health and other considerations. He has a good little farm of about 120 acres near Ironton in the Arcadia Valley, devoted chiefly to stock raising. Dr. Jones has been fairly successful in all his efforts, is out of debt, and worth about $60,000 - made by farming.  Seven children have been born to him and wife, five of whom are living.
J. S. Jordan, prosecuting attorney, was born in Pike County, MO., August 7, 1852, and is the son of Richard T. and Elizabeth (Bartlett) Jordan. J. S. Jordan was reared in Pike Co., Mo., until fifteen years of age, and then after roaming around for several years, finally located in Reynolds Co., Mo., where in 1876 he was elected prosecuting attorney, and filled that position in an able and efficient manner for eight years.  In 1877 he chose for his companion in life, Miss Minerva L. Farris, and the fruits of this union were four children, all but one now living and are named as follows: Anna A., Olie H. (deceased), Jesse E., and John L. In 1886 Mr. Jordan was elected prosecuting attorney of Iron County, and in 1888 he was elected city attorney, which position he still holds.  He is a member of the I.O.O.F., and is also a member of the K of H.
Frederick Kaths, retired merchant of Pilot Knob, Iron Co., MO., came to this county in April, 1857, and has been living in the county ever since, with the exception of the summer of 1859, when he went to Colorado, from whence he returned in the fall of the same year. He was in the merchandising and milling business for over twenty years, in Iron County, from which he retired in the year 1884.  He owns considerable real estate in this county, to which he is now devoting his time.  In 1865 he married Miss Dorethea Roemer, who bore him nine children, seven of whom are now living (four boys and three girls). Mr. Kaths has been a member of the Masonic fraternity for the last twenty-five years.
Judge John Kemper, among the old Kentucky families who came to Missouri in 1835 were Henry and Elizabeth (O'Bannon) Kemper, natives of Virginia.  They located near Fredericktown, where Mr. Kemper was engaged in farming, and also somewhat devoted to mechanical work, for which he had special aptitude. He died in 1863. While they were living in Mt. Carmel, Ky., there was born to them a son, whose name heads this sketch.  Young Kemper received few educational advantages, but made the most of his opportunities, such as they were.  He began farming independently at the age of twenty years, and in 1846 received the appointment of deputy sheriff, continuing four years.  In 1851, he and H. J. Jones opened the first store in Patterson, Mo., and laid out the town plat. With the outbreak of the war he made up a company and started for the seat of hostilities.  It was Company I, Third Regiment Missouri State Guards, in which he served six months, when it was disbanded. He was then given charge of the quartermaster's books of Jeff. Thompson's brigade, for a year, but on account of ill health resigned and went south.  On his return he was made manager of the government tan yards in Randolph County, AR, until he afterward joined Lee's army, and continued until the surrender. From that time until 1872, he was in Madison County, Mo., and then located in Iron County, on a place purchased before the war.  It embraces about 260 acres, with 65 acres under cultivation, there being excellent deposits of quartz, iron, copper and lead.  Judge Kemper was a county judge for two years, and for eight years served as justice of the peace. In 1848 he married Miss Elizabeth O'Bannon, and their children are Virginia A. (wife of Joseph Stagner), William B., Judith, Lucinda and Sanford.  Mrs. Kemper died in 1882, a devoted Christian and member of the Baptist Church.  Judge Kemper is a Mason and member of the Farmers' Alliance.
Joseph Kerchner is a native of Iron Mountain, St. Francois Co., MO, where he was born in 1861, and is the son of Laurence and Agnes (Spidle) Kerchner, both natives of Germany. They immigrated to this country, making the trip in an old time sailing vessel, and landed at New Orleans. They then sailed up the Mississippi River to Ste. Genevieve County, settling at Ste. Genevieve, but only remained there a short time.  He then removed to Iron Mountain, and there lived for eighteen years, when he removed to Graniteville, where he has since resided, and where he was for a number of years head engineer at the mines at Iron Mountain.  He has since been engaged in farming, milling and the saloon business, the latter being conducted by his son, Joseph Kerchner, who is one of seven children born to his parents, all now living: Edward, Joseph, Barbara, Matthew, Frank, Mary and Caroline.  Joseph Kerchner was for some years engaged in teaming, but for the past nine years has been engaged in the saloon business.  He has the choicest brands of imported and native wines, whiskies, etc., and is doing a successful business.  He is also engaged in the livery business, and runs a hack from Graniteville to Middlebrook.  He has a full line of carriages and the best horses to be obtained.
Dr. C. C. Kerlogon was born August 19, 1855, in Ste Genevieve County, MO., and is the son of James? E and Mary A. (Palmer) Kerlogon.  The father was also a native of Ste. Genevieve County, and there spent his boyhood days, wandering aimlessly over the country, as he was left an orphan when quite young.  He went from this State to Illinois where he remained four or five years, when he returned to Missouri, and engaged in the saloon business at Hillsboro, Jefferson County.  He remained in that business until his marriage, after which he sold out and removed to Iron County, where he engaged in agricultural pursuits, but only for a short period, and sold his crops early in the fall.  He then went to St. Genevieve County, where he remained three or four years, following farming for a livelihood.  He then went to St. Francois County, where he has since lived.  The father is now sixty -four years of age, and the mother fifty-five, and both are enjoying excellent health. To their union were born thirteen children, eleven now living:  Dr. C. C., David B.; Sarah M., Zeno E., Laura A., Catherine, Francis E., Cora, Mark T., Clara and Monroe. Those deceased are Missoura, Ora and Alice.  Dr. C. C. Kerlogon was reared on a farm, and there spent his boyhood days.  He attended the common schools and afterward entered Carleton Institute at Farmington where he remained two terms.  He studied medicine under Dr. Lamming, at Bloomsdale, for two years. He then took a three years' course in medicine at the St. Louis Medical College, St. Louis, MO., graduating March 7, 1883, and then returned to Ste. Genevieve and established himself in business at Zell Post-office, where he remained until March, 1886. He then came to Belleview, and has practiced his profession there ever since.
Calvin Kitchell, farmer, was born in Ripley County, Ind., April 11, 1823, and is the son of Moses and Elizabeth (Ronney) Kitchel.  The father was born in Ohio, and there remained until grown.  He then removed to Indiana, and there married his first wife, who died leaving no children.  His second marriage was to Miss Elizabeth Ronney, and to them were born seven children, two now living: Calvin and Mrs. Mary Cooper.  The father having moved to Illinois died there a number of years ago.  Calvin Kitchell was married in 1844 to Miss Malinda Tucker, who was living in Illinois at the time of her marriage.  Shortly after this event they moved to Arkansas, where they remained for about two years, and then returned to Illinois. Here they lived for thirteen years, after which they moved to Bee Fork of Black River, Reynolds Co., Mo., in 1857, from there to Iron County in 1863, thence again to Reynolds County in 1876, and returned to Iron County in 1887, where they have since lived. To their marriage were born 8 children, all now living: Sylvester, John R., Zachariah T., Benjamin F., James A., William W., Augustus C and George W., Mr. Kitchell has lived on his present farm for just one year, and has 180 acres, ninety under cultivation.  There are indications of lead on the place, but they have never been developed.  Mr. Kitchell is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and of the Farmers' Alliance.
J. W. Lashley, son of Arnold and Mary (Koontz) Lashley, was born in Washington County, Md., Mary 27, 1834.  The father Arnold Lashley, was born in Virginia and removed from there to Washington Co., Md., when a young man, and was there married to Miss Mary Koontz, daughter of Daniel Koontz. Grandfather Koontz was a native of Germany and came to this country at an early day, and Great-great-grandfather Lashley was originally from England.  His brother was a soldier in the British army and surrendered under Lord Cornwallis at Yorktown, during the Revolutionary War.  From these two have descended the entire Lashley family in America.  Arnold Lashley became the father of eight children, four now living: Mrs. M. J. Tewell, John W., Daniel, and Robert, and Mrs. M. Elbin, Mrs. S. Collins, Isaac W. and Mary E. are the ones deceased. Mr. Lashley has followed the occupation of a farmer all his life and has succeeded fairly well at that business. He had brother Isaac, who was wounded during the late war, and died at Fredericksburg, VA. J. W. Lashley received a fair education in the common schools, and in March 1856, was united in marriage to Miss Rachel Ritchie, daughter of Rev., Abraham Ritchie, and the result of this union was the birth of one child, Joseph R. Mrs. Lashley died in February 1857. In 1861 Mr. Lashley married Miss Sarah Collins, daughter of Andrew Collins, and to them there were born six children, all now living; Isaac W., Francis A., Laura D., U.G., Henry C. and O.D.  Mr. Lashley left Maryland when quite young, and moved to Bedford County, Penn., where he remained until 1867, when he immigrated to Champaign County, Ill., but shortly afterward moved to Iron County, where he has since lived.  During the late war he enlisted in the Ninety-First Pennsylvania, First Division Fifth Corps.  While in Illinois Mr. Lashley was elected to the position of the justice of the peace, although he does not seek offices of public trust. He has always followed agricultural pursuits, and owns a splendid farm of 200 acres 150 of which are under cultivation.  He is a member of the I.O.O.F., also K of H., is also one of the executive committee of the State of Alliance, and was one of the organizers of the same.
Mrs. Belle Lay was born June 28, 1847, and is the daughter of William H. and H. B. (Goodwin) Coleman.  The father was a native of Virginia, and when a young man immigrated to Missouri, settling in St. Louis County, about twenty miles from the city which at that time, was but a small village. His wife was born in Fayette County, Ky., and was the daughter of Lloyd E and Mary (Graves) Goodwin.  Eleven children were born to them. Seven now living: Mrs. C. V. Locker, Lizzie, Mrs. D. G. Blakely, Mrs. Lay, Mrs. Jennie Field, Mrs. Frank D. Terry and Lillie.  Those deceased were named: Ella, Jessie Josie, and an infant not named. September 19,1867 Miss Belle Coleman was untied in marriage to Mr. Henry C. Lay, in St. Louis County.  Mr. Lay was born and reared in St. Louis County, and was the son of John and Charlotte (Walton) Lay.  During his whole life he followed the occupation of a farmer. After his marriage he removed to St. Francois County and there remained for about eighteen months, when he removed to Randolph County, and there remained seven years. They then came to Iron County and settled where Mrs. Belle Lay now lives, and where Mr. Lay died September 29,1879, at the age of forty-one. Their family consisted of five children, all now living: Daisy, Willie, Stephen, Etta and Harry.  Since her husband's death, Mrs. Lay has continued to carry on the farm work, and by judicious management, self-reliance and industry has acquired a nice property, having a farm of 242 acres, 200 under cultivation.  Mrs. Lay received a good education in the public schools of St. Louis, and afterward finished at Bonham's Young Ladies Seminar, but never quite finished her course.  She is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and at one time was a member of the Good Templars. On this farm has been found, what is supposed to be an excellent class of marble.
Eugene M. Logan, son of James M. and Ann (Stephens) Logan, was born in Belleview, Iron Co., Mo., January 27, 1859.  The father, James M. Logan, was a native of Iron County, as was also his wife, and the grandfather Logan was a Virginian by birth, who immigrated to this county at a very early day, and when the country was a vast wilderness.  The grandfather Stephens was born December 29, 1812, near Bowling Green, Ky., and was about twelve years of age when coming to this county.
His wife was also born in the year 1812, and by birth is a Virginian, although she moved to Kentucky when quite young, only remaining there a short time when she removed to Missouri, and there has since remained, being now in her seventy-seventh year.   She remembers and can tell many interesting anecdotes connected with the early settlement of the country, and can remember when the Indians were almost everyday visitors.  Mr. and Mrs. James Logan are the parents of one child, Eugene M., who after completing his common school education in Iron County public schools took a two years course in the Westminster College, at Fulton, Mo.  December 30, 1880 he married Miss Fannie L. Reyburn, and to this union were born three children: Jennie E., Lemie and Annie B., all now living.  Mr. Logan was, for a short time, engaged in merchandising at Belleview, after which he engaged in agricultural pursuits. He owns ninety acres of land; sixty being under cultivation, and aside from this, he owns several other farms throughout the county.  The old homestead, where Mr. Logan now lives is a very beautiful place, being situated about one mile from Belleview.  Mr. Logan is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and he and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church.
James M. Logan, son of John V. and Elizabeth H.(Mallow) Logan, was born in Iron County, November 2, 1833. John V. Logan was born in Salem, VA, in 1809, and immigrated to this country when only twelve years of age.  The mother Elizabeth H, Logan was born in Fincastle, VA, March 23, 1811, and immigrated westward the same year that her husband did, and settled only five miles from where he was living.  They were the parents of seven children, four now living: J.F.C., James M., Lucy C. Gay, and Elizabeth J. Purkis. Those deceased are: Mary J. Muffley, William A. and Addison R. James M. Logan, the subject of this sketch, has lived in this immediate neighborhood for the past thirty nine years, and remembers very distinctly when the entire Bellevue valley, with the exception of a few old Spanish grants was one vast wilderness.  About the time of his birth and during his father's recollection, Indians passed through this country in great numbers, but were as a rule, quite peaceable. Mr. Logan married November 19, 1857, to Miss Ann Stephens, daughter of Joseph L. Stephens, one of Iron County's pioneer settlers. To this marriage was born one child, Eugene M.  Mr. Logan has been engaged in merchandising for a number of years, and is also by trade a carpenter and cabinetmaker but never followed the cabinet-maker's trade for a living.  For the past eleven years he has followed the occupation of a farmer and stock raiser, and is at present the owner of an excellent farm of 455 acres, 300 being under cultivation.  He also owns an interest in four other farms in this county, and on some of his land are indications of splendid mineral deposits, but he has never had them developed.  Mr. Logan is a member of the I.O.O.F., and of the Masonic fraternity.  He and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Logan having been a member for thirty years and at one time was a member of the church at Caledonia, the first Presbyterian Church west of the Mississippi River with Thomas Donnell as pastor, and was by him baptized.
James Lovelace, mill owner and farmer, was born in Middle Tennessee, in 1845, and is the son of P. M. and Sarah (Dunegan) Lovelace, who were natives of the same region.   They moved west, however, and thinking to better their prospects, located in Wayne County, in 1855, where he followed farming together with the care of a grist-mill at Patterson, that county.   He died in 1878, leaving a family of seven children: James, Manuel, Lowry, Vira, Caroline, Lucy and Dora.   James Lovelace remained at home until maturity, and was given fair educational advantages. He was married in 1875 to Miss Alsie Fenton, a union which has resulted in five children living: Johnnie, Minnie, Nellie, Tommie and Ora.   He was in the Confederate service a short time but soon returned to his chosen pursuits.  In 1885 he built a saw mill in which he annually produces from his lands about 10,000 feet of pine lumber, for the St. Louis and Kansas markets.   Previous to engaging in the saw milling business, he made dome money in the contracting.   He is also the owner of another saw mill besides the one mentioned, thus having two.   Mr. Lovelace owns about 1550 acres of timber land, and is one of the largest farmers in Iron County, owning five large farms under an excellent state of cultivation.  His hill lands have deposits of mixed iron and lead with some silver, and are said to be well worth developing.
Azariah Martin.  In Kentucky were born Miss Lucinda Hill and Mastin B. Martin, who grew to maturity in that State, and were married. The father was born April 7, 1809, and the mother’s birth occurred September 29, 1815, and while their home was in Madison County, there was born to them a son, in 1839, to whom they gave the name at the head of this sketch.  About March, 1845, they moved to Farmington, Mo., and two years later located in Iron County, near Stout’s Creek, on the farm now owned by their son, Azariah.  After the father’s death, October 4, 1851, the mother managed the home until she married Mr. James Davidson.  She also passed away, December 30, 1878, at the age of sixty-three years.  Of six children born to her first marriage, Humphrey, James, Viennia, Samiria and Azariah are living. Azariah spent his youth after his fifth year in Missouri, in St. Francois and Iron Counties, at home, but he was enabled to buy out the heirs of the old home, between 1866 and 1869.  During the war he took part with both sides, and was taken prisoner in 1863 at Cotton Plant, Ark., in the hospital.  He was paroled and returned home, and for a time worked at Pilot Knob, at burning charcoal.  In August 1864, he joined the State militia, and in September entered the Forty-seventh Missouri Infantry.  He was mustered out in April, 1865.  He was in the action at Pilot Knob.  For two years he was engaged in charcoal burning, but has since that followed farming and stock raising.  May 28, 1867, he married Amanda Hill, a native of Louisville, Ky.  Mr. and Mrs. Martin are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.  He is also identified with the Farmers’ Alliance.
Jefferson D. McClung is a native of Iron County, Mo., born June 16, 1862, and is a son of James A. and Martha W. (Hughes) McClung.   The father was a native of Tennessee, and came to Missouri when the State was, comparatively, unsettled.   He made his home a short distance from where his son, Jefferson McClung, now resides.   Martha W.   (Hughes) McClung, was born in Washington County, Mo. (now Iron County).   Jefferson McClung received but a meager education, as he only attended the schools of his county for a short time.   His wife bore him five children, all sons and all now living, viz: William N., James H., Hugh K., Jefferson D. and Jacob L.   James A. McClung, father of the subject of this sketch, was in the late war, and went to Arkansas where he died.   Jefferson D. was married November 24, 1886, to Miss Maggie E. Hill, daughter of Uncle Thomas Hill, one of the early pioneers of Iron County.  This union has resulted in the birth of one child, Ola K.   Mr. McClung is a member of the Farmers’ Alliance, and is a wide-awake, stirring young man.
Dr. J. R. McKinney, son of William and Sarah (Randolph) McKinney, was born in Owen County, Ky., November 20, 1813.   The father, William McKinney, was born in Virginia, in 1786 and the mother, Sarah (Randolph) McKinney, was a native of New Jersey, came with her parents to Kentucky, and settled in Jefferson County, where she married Mr. McKinney, in 1906.   Their marriage license was issued by the first clerk ever elected in Jefferson County.   The grandfather, James McKinney, was born and reared in Virginia, where he married Mary Bettie, but more familiarly known as Aunt Polly.   Of the eleven children born to their union, none are now living.   They were named as follows: William, Archibald, John, Michael, George, James, Catherine, Rachel, Margaret, Elizabeth and Mary.   The grandfather moved to Kentucky, settled in Henry County, and there remained until 1825, when he removed to Butler County, and there passed the remainder of his days.   He died in 1830, and his widow of nine years later. To William McKinney and wife were born five children, two now living, Dr. J. R. and David. The three deceased were named Harriet, Harrison and Mary.   The mother of these children died, and their father then married Miss Elizabeth Morton, of Albemarle County.   Five children were also born to this union, four now living: James W. Lavenia W., William M., and Laura. The one deceased was named Frances.   Dr. J. R. McKinney was but an infant when his mother died, and he was taken by his grandparents and cared for, until his twelfth year, when he went to live with his father, who, in the meantime, had married the second time, and was living in Butler County, Ky.   He worked on the farm, and attended the common schools, until his eighteenth year, after which he taught school one year, and in 1833, he professed religion and joining the Cumberland Presbyterian Church.   In 1834 he took his academic course at Little Spring Academy, and again taught school one year, reading medicine at the same time.   In 1835 he entered the office of Withers & Wilson, as a regular medical student, reading under them two years. He then took a medical course at Louisville, in 1837, graduating in 1838 and beginning to practice in the fall of the latter year at Sugar Grove, Butler County, where he had a successful practice for four years.   March 15, 1842, he married Miss Martha T. Johnson, of Kentucky, and one year later they moved on a farm in Warren County, Ky.   At the breaking out of the war, in 1861, Dr. McKinney entered the Confederate service as a surgeon, and shared the fortunes and misfortunes of the lost cause, until the close of the war.   In 1866 he moved to Iron County, Mo., and settled in Belleview, where he now lives.   The Doctor, by his marriage, became the father of these children: Mary E., Richard J., Theodore F., William T., Walter S., John R., H. H., David J. and L. D.   An infant son, H. S., died in 1858.   The Doctor practiced but little after coming to Missouri, but shortly afterward retired from the profession.   Since that time he has been engaged in Agricultural pursuits, and owns 460 acres of land, but has divided with his children.   The Doctor has been a member of the church for fifty-five years, and his wife has been a member forty-seven years.   He is a Mason, and has been a regent of the State Normal School at Cape Girardeau for the past eight years, missing but one meeting in the meantime.   The great-grandfather of the Doctor, in company with two brothers, immigrated from Ireland at an early day, and settled in the old State of Virginia, where the Doctor’s father and grandfather were born. The Grandfather served during the Indian wars.   His son, Michael, while associating with them, learned the Indian language so that he could speak it readily.
Felix R. Mills, son of Jonathan and S. (Glore) Mills, was born in Mississippi County, Mo., October 28, 1849.  The father was born in Indiana, and when in his thirteenth year came to Mississippi County, Mo., where he passed his entire life engaged in agricultural pursuits.  His wife was also born in Mississippi County, was reared there and lived there all her life until ten years of age.   When she, in company with her son and daughter, came to Iron County, where they have since lived.   She now has a little home near that of her son, and passes her time all alone, excepting when her two grandsons, Jimmie and George Favors, come to spend a short time with her, and when she visits her son’s family.  Grandfather Mills was born in South Carolina, and came to Indiana from that State at an early day, and there lived until 1823, when he removed to Mississippi County, Mo.  Grandmother Mills was born in North Carolina.  The father of our subject died in Mississippi County, December 17, 1864.  He was the father of ten children, two now living; Felix R. and Mrs. Lucy Middleton.  Those deceased are Mary, Eudora, Hardin and DeWitt: the others died in infancy.  Mr. Felix Mills was married March 3, 1885, to Lucy Rice, daughter of Samuel and Margaret (Parker) Rice, both born and reared in Iron County.  The result of this union was the birth of one child named Moman.  Since coming to this county Mr. Mills has continued to follow his old occupation, that of farming, and now owns a nice farm of eighty acres near Kaolin.  There are indications of lead on his farm, but these have never been developed.  He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and a good citizen.
James M. Morris, merchant, postoffice Des Arc, was born in Old Virginia, Louisa County, in 1842, and is the son of James M. and Mary (Crank) Morris, who were farmers and large slave owners, dying in 1887, and leaving six children.  James M. received a good school education in his native State, and at his maturity the Civil War broke out, and he shouldered his gun in the defense of his native home, enlisting in 1861, in Company D, Forty-fourth Virginia Regiment, commanded by Col. Scott, in which he served until the close of the war, in 1865.  He was wounded in 1864, and was discharged, but being of a daring and brave disposition, he could not remain at home while his country needed help, so he accepted the position in the postoffice department at the hospital of Chimborazo, Richmond, Va.  He received three wounds, one in the head, a scalp wound, the second in the leg, and the third in the neck, the ball passing down and lodging in the shoulder, where it now remains, and at times Mr. Morris suffers intense pain from its effects, his arm at times becomes paralyzed.  He was in nearly all the principal battles that were fought in the East, being all the time in Stonewall Jackson’s and R. E. Lee’s Corps of the East.  He came west shortly after the close of the war, locating in Washington County, near Potosi, and engaged in the saw mill business, at which he was very successful.  About 1878 he purchased large lumber interests in this county, and opened up a store in Williamsville, Mo., but finally moved to Des Arc, purchasing some town property and opening a store, and dealing in lumber, buying and selling for the Northern markets, etc.  He owns a storehouse well stocked with a general stock of merchandise of about $8,000 in value, containing such goods as are kept in first-class stores.  He also owns a fine dwelling, and five other lots.  He married in 1869, Miss Eugenia H. Phillips, daughter of George and Susan Phillips of Essex County, VA., who died, leaving their daughter as an orphan at a very tender age.  There are five children living from this union viz: George W., James C., Monson M., Walter B. and Mary S.  Mr. Morris was very unfortunate to lose his wife in 1886.  He is a member of the Baptist Church.
Wiley O’Neal, farmer, was born in 1820, in North Carolina, and is the son of Samuel and Esther (Price) O’Neal, who were also born in North Carolina, dying there in 1839.  He was a farmer by occupation.   They had several children, but only one survives this union- the subject of this sketch, Wiley, who remained with his parents until their death.  Having received a poor education, he started out in this world with a hard road to lead.   He worked at farm work by day until 1841, when he married Miss S. Perry, but she did not survive her married life long, dying without issue, Mr. O’Neal married his second wife in 1849, a Miss Elvira Allen, and had eight children, seven living, viz: Elvira (married to Richard Lloyd), Wiley M. (married to Luster Bowles), William T. (married to Merniva Rainey), Sarah C. (married to Henry Perkins), Caroline (married to Newton Stokley), James S. and James C.   Mr. O’Neal moved to the State of Missouri in 1855, and settled in the far west, in Jasper County, but not liking his location, he came to Iron County, and purchased his present home, about two miles northeast of Des Arc, containing about 250 acres of valuable land, with some 100 acres cleared and in fine cultivation.  Mr. O’Neal has, upon his children becoming of age, deeded them part of the homestead, leaving him 160 acres.  Himself and family are members of the Baptist Church, and he is also a member of the Farmers’ Alliance.
G. W. Phillips was born and reared near Nashville, Ill., and there spent his boyhood days.  Having advantages for an education, he applied himself vigorously to his task and acquired and education, if not of the highest grade, one that will be useful in his life.  About ten years ago his health failed, and thinking that a change of climate would benefit him, he moved to Belleview Valley, Iron Co., Mo., where he located on a farm of 260 acres, lying on a perfect square about two and a half miles northwest of Belleview.  He now has 240 acres under cultivation, and a more beautiful place is not to be found.  He has excellent buildings, good water supplies, a spring being in every field excepting one, and that is convenient for watering.  A peculiar thing about the land is that the entire front is broadened by a general ridge, but his farming land is clear of all rocks.  Immediately in front of the barn is a spring about three feet wide, gushing from beneath a huge bluff of solid rock, making a watering place the entire year, and being almost as cold as ice water.  Taking all things into consideration, Mr. Phillips farm is as fine and is as conveniently arranged as any in the State.
S. P. Rayburn was born in Iron County, October 23, 1858, and is the son of Samuel A. and Margaret Jane (Robinson) Rayburn.   The father was born in Belleview, as was also the mother.  Here they were married and here they reared their family.  Their parents on both sides were natives of Virginia, and Grandfather Robinson was a soldier in the War of 1812.  Of their family of six children, three are now living: S. P., Bettie and Margaret Jane. The father died May 1, 1883, at the age of sixty-three, having spent his entire life in this county and served the public as sheriff for four years, in what was then Washington County.  He was a man highly esteemed by his countrymen, had led a life of usefulness, and had devoted much time to perfecting the present free school system being a strong advocate of a thorough education.  He had followed agricultural pursuits all his life, and was a good farmer.   The mother is still living and is sixty-seven years of age.   Their son, S. P. Rayburn, was married in 1881 to Miss Sallie Wyatt, of Iron County, to this union were born three children, all now living: Essie B., Mary and William A., who was named after his grandfather.   Mr. Rayburn is a young man and is held in high esteem by the people of Iron County.  In 1886 he was elected assessor over two competitors, and is at present a candidate for the same position.   He is a blacksmith by trade but on account of his health was obliged to abandon this, and has since given his attention to farming.  He owns 100 acres of land, eighty under cultivation.   He and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church.
W. R. Read was born in Keokuk, Iowa, January 30, 1848, and is the son of William C. and Elizabeth (Relfe) Read.   The father was born in Fulton, Callaway Co., Mo., and was married to Miss Relfe, a daughter of James H. Relfe, in Washington County, Mo.  He then removed to Iowa and there followed his profession, that of law, but had only remained there but a short time when he lost his wife.  He then returned to Washington County, but not with the intention of making it his home, but from there started for California, going down the Mississippi in company with a number of friends from Fulton.  After arriving in New Orleans he, with his friends, was on the top of the steamer viewing the beauties of the city, when the boiler exploded, and he was instantly killed.   He was the father of two children, only one now living: William R. and James (deceased).  William R. received good educational advantages, and took a thorough course in mathematics, but never completed the course sufficiently to receive a diploma.   He also attended school for about two years in Fulton, Callaway, Co., Mo. December 24, 1874; he married Miss Lucy R. McGready, of Potosi, Mo., and daughter of W. E. and Eliza McGready, old settlers of Washington County.   Mr. Read has followed merchandising since leaving school and has been in business where he is now located since 1871.  He and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church, and Mr. Read is a member of the Masonic fraternity.
August Rieke, merchant, was born in Germany September 26, 1846, and is a son of Andreas and Louise Rieke, born Lange, both natives of Germany.  The father was born October 16, 1815, a farmer by occupation, and this he followed all his life in the old country.  He died on October 1, 1887.  He was the father of six children: Johanna, August, William, Louisa, Ernst and Hermine.  August Rieke was reared on a farm in the old country, and was in the Prussian War 1870-71, being in some of the principal battles.  He served two years in the regular service and one in the war.  He was given a metal in 1871 for bravery displayed on the battlefield, and has the medal at the present time.  He was also given a ribbon of Frederick William IV by his regiment, for bravery displayed in service, and was complimented on all sides for his gallantry in service.  In 1874 he took passage at Bremen  and sailed to New York, where he landed.  From there he went to Ironton, where he has since resided most of his time and worked as a laborer for two years.  In 1877 he married Miss Dora Nieder, a native of Missouri.  To them were born five children, of whom Matilda, Otto and Herman are living.  In 1879 Mr. Rieke engaged in the saloon business, and has continued this ever since, operating the mercantile business in connection with it.  He has been very successful in business, and is a good and prominent citizen.  He is a member of the I.O.O.F., having passed the chairs in that organization.  He is also a member of the encampment.
Anton Roehry, dealer in liquors at Ironton, was born in Alsace, France, on August 11, 1849, and is the son of Ignatz and Mary (Simon) Roehry, both natives of Alsace, France.  Both parents are now living, and reside, in their native country.  Anton Roehry was reared in France, received a good education and learned the shoemaker’s trade, which occupation he followed for about five years, working in Paris and other large cities of the old countries.  He was a soldier in the French army. In 1871 sailed for America, taking passage at Liverpool and landing in New York.  From there he went to Buffalo, where he worked at his trade for about seven months.  He then went to Chicago, remained there a short time working in a brick-yard, and then went to Alton, thence to St. Louis, and later came to Iron Mountain, Mo. Here he was engaged in mining for some time, but went from there to Middlebrook, and from there to Graniteville, where he ran a restaurant and saloon for about two years.  In 1876 he came to Ironton, and here he has since remained, engaged in the liquor business. In 1883 he made a trip to Europe to see his parents.  He was married in 1883 to Miss Emma Mark, a native of Pittsburgh.  To this union were born two children: Amael and Mary.  Mr. Roehry is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and of the I.O.O.F. lodge, having passed the chairs in the latter.
William Ruddock was born September 12, 1839, in St. Clair County, Ill., and is the son of John C. and Annie (Yearsleg) Ruddock.  The father was born in Springfield, Mass., and immigrating westward, settled near Belleville, in St Clair County, Ill., where William Ruddock was born. His mother was born in Newcastle County, Del., but came back to Illinois when quite young, settling near Belleville, where she married John C. Ruddock, who was a very successful farmer. William Ruddock, subject of this sketch, married Miss Emma R. Coale, a native of the city of Baltimore, Md., but who was living in St. Clair County at the time of her marriage.  She was the daughter of Jeremiah and Catherine Coale, who, at an early day had removed to Belleville, St. Clair County, Ill., where she was married to Mr. Ruddock in 1864.  To them were born four children, two now living: John C., named after his grandfather Ruddock, and William. Mr. Ruddock lived in Macon County, Ill., until 1883, having moved there from St. Clair County, in 1863, where he worked on his father’s extensive farm for a number of years.  In 1883 he came to Iron County, Mo., where he has since lived.  During his residence in Macon County he was elected to the office of collector of revenue, which position he held for a period of two years.  He is now school director in his own district, which position he has held almost since his first settlement in the county.  He is also a member of the Farmers’ Alliance, and by that organization was elected president of Lodge No. 120, Cedar Grove, which office he has held since its organization last August.  Mr. Ruddock owns 309 acres of land, 100 acres being under cultivation.
Cyrus Russell, a prominent pioneer of Arcadia Township, was born in Connecticut in 1819, the son of Col. Cyrus and Rebecca (Pease) Russell, also natives of Connecticut.  The father was born in 1795 and in his youth served in the State Militia.  In 1816 he married, and in 1838, with his family, came by team to Pittsburgh, and then by water went to Missouri, to the southeastern part.  Here he entered 1,000 acres of land, most of which he improved, and was among the first citizens of that region.  He held official positions most of his life, and although he was a member of the Congregational Church at first, he afterward became a Presbyterian, and was an organizer of the church at Ironton.  He died in 1860.  His children are Henry (deceased), Cyrus, Theodore P., Giles, William, Maria R. (now Mrs. Capt. John Smith), Flora A. (now Mrs. A. B. Guild), Frances H. (now Mrs. Dr. N. C. Griffith) and Harriet (now Mrs. Farrar).  The mother died in 1870. The subject of this sketch attended school in Connecticut, a student with Frank Blair and Donald S. Mitchell. He lived with his parents in Missouri until 1849, when he returned east and was married.  In 1851 he located where he now lives and engaged in farming and carpentering, which has occupied him ever since.  He helped build the old seminary at Arcadia, among other buildings.  During the war he was taken prisoner while a skirmish was being fought on his place, near which the forces camped. He was not a soldier, however not being accepted on account of ill health.  After the war he resumed farming, and held the office of registrar for several years.  Julia Dunham, his first wife, died soon after their marriage, and in 1853 he married Delia M. Clark, who was born in Connecticut in 1828.  Of eight children the following are living: Julia (now Mrs. Rev. E. P. Keach). C. Sanford, Ebenezer and Sarah.  Mr. and Mrs. Russell and family are member of the Presbyterian Church.
J. H. Russell was born on May 29, 1822, in Washington County, Mo., and is the son of Alexander and Elizabeth (Rice) Russell. The father was bon in Hawkins County, Tenn., and immigrated to Iron (then Washington) County when a young man.  By this union to Miss Rice were born six children, two now living, Jefferson C. and J. H.  Those deceased are Joseph, William, James M. and Moses.  Alexander Russell came to Iron County in 1818, when large bands of friendly Indians roamed over the country.  He could remember very distinctly when Missouri was admitted as a State, and could relate many interesting anecdotes connected with the early settlement of the country.  J. H. Russell, during his boyhood days had very meager educational advantages, as the schools were few and far between, but, notwithstanding this, by his own industry and determination, he has obtained a fair education.  Mr. Russell has spent his entire life, with the exception of about three years, where he now lives, and remembers when the ground where Ironton is now located was one vast wilderness; when game of almost every kind was abundant, and remembers the opening of Iron Mountain and Pilot Knob – the great iron producing centers of Missouri.  He was married in 1848 to Miss Estha J. Carsons, daughter of William Carson, a native of Virginia.  To this marriage were born eight children, five now living: William A., Julia A., John C., Mary R., and Amanda M.  Those deceased are named as follows:  Elizabeth J. (Mrs. Rayburn), James T. and Sarah J.  During the late war Mr. Russell enlisted in Company C, of Col. White’s Regiment Missouri Cavalry, but was afterward in the infantry organized in Oregon County, near Alton.  He was captured in that county; sent to the Knob, form there to St. Louis, and from there to Alton, where he was paroled.  He has been a farmer all his life, and had 600 acres of land, but divided with his children.  Mr. Russell has always taken a great interest in the advancement of education, religion, etc., and has given freely and willingly to all.  He is a member of the Farmers’ Alliance, and he and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church, of which he has been an elder.
Judge Theodore P. Russell, a prominent farmer of Arcadia Township, was born in Connecticut in 1820.  A sketch of his parent, Col. Cyrus and Rebecca P. (Pease) Russell, appears in the sketch of Cyrus Russell.  The grandfather Russell was a soldier during the Revolution.  The family are of English origin.  The subject of this sketch was eighteen years of age when the family settled in Southeast Missouri, and lived on the old homestead (now known as Russellville) until twenty-six years of age. At that time he was married, and settled in the timber on part of the old place, and cleared about 200 acres, of which he now has 132 acres under cultivation.  About that time he was elected justice of the peace and served for eight years, and in 1860 was elected to the office of treasurer, but resigned in the following year to enlist in Company C, Sixty-eighth Missouri Militia, under Col. James Lindsey.  After a month’s encampment they were disbanded, but subject to government call at any time.  They fought at Pilot Knob, and the first skirmish was on the Russellville farm.  Since the war he has held the office of county and probate judge, being first appointed by the Governor, and afterward elected for a term o six years.  For eleven years he had charge of seventy miles of highway as road overseer, and kept it in fine condition.  His wife was formerly Miss Emily W. Guild, a native of New Hampshire, born in 1827.  They were married in Pike County, Ill., her home.  Twelve children have been born to them, of whom are living Charles W., Claudius C., Emily A., Maria A., Eliza E., John F., Nora A., and Alfred G.  Those deceased are L. Kipp, Frederick P., William A. and Theodore.  Those of the family interested in political and social questions are strong Prohibitionists.
John Schwab, proprietor of the Ironton Manufacturing Company, was born in Siselan, Canton Berne, Switzerland, March 25, 1845, and is a son of John and Anna Schwab, both native of Switzerland.  They took passage at Havre for the United States in 1852, and landed at New Orleans after a voyage of fifty-two days.  They then came up the Mississippi River, landing in Cape Girardeau County, where they remained for three years, the father engaged in farming.  Mr. Schwab then took a trip up the Mississippi, to St. Paul, but, not liking the city, came back and moved to Pilot Knob in 1856, when he worked in the mines until the breaking out of the late war.  He then enlisted in the Home Guards, and served in that capacity six months.  He was in the battle of Pilot Knob, was captain of the company, and lieutenant of the Home Guards.  He is still living, and resides on a farm near Pilot Knob.  The mother died July 4, 1880.  They were the parents of nine children, five of whom are now living: John, Frederick, August, William and Louis.  The eldest child now living, John Schwab, was in his seventh year on arriving in America.  He received a limited education in the common schools of America, and is self-educated in the English language.  He remained with his parents until twenty-one years of age, but previous to this, at the age of sixteen, he entered the Pilot Knob Iron Company’s service as a clerk, where he remained until he was thirty years of age.  In 1865 he married Miss Louisa Ranft, a native of England, of German descent, by whom he has ten children, seven now living: William, Louisa, Mary, John, Benjamin, Clara and August. At the age of thirty, Mr. Schwab went to Graniteville, where he entered into the mercantile business for himself.  This carried on for five years, and then leased the St. Louis Ore and Steel Company’s store, which he operated for three years and three months, keeping both stores going until the lease ran out.  In 1882 he came to Ironton and engaged in the milling business, which he has continued ever since.  The mill is owned by a stock company, and is run under a full roller process, with a capacity of seventy-five barrels every twenty-four hours.  They shop to all points south, and do a good business. Mrs. Schwab is a member of the Lutheran Church.
John W. Speck, farmer and liveryman, was born in County York, Bridlington, Quay, England, September 7, 1835, and is the son of John and Ann (Gethling) Speck, natives of England and Wales, respectively.  The father was a large cattle dealer in England, which business he followed until retiring entirely from active pursuits.  They both died in England, and were the parents of three children, only one, our subject, now living.  He was reared in England, and received a liberal education, graduating at Ford’s College in England.  In 1858, he sailed for America, taking passage at Liverpool on the steamer "Inman."  He landed at Quebec, thence going to Montreal and Toronto.  He remained in Canada until the spring of 1859, when he went to Dubuque, Iowa, and there worked by day’s work, learning the habits of the people.  In June 1859, he came to Ironton, and engaged in the butcher business, which he followed for about twenty-five years.  He then engaged in the livery business, which he follows at the present time, but is also engaged in farming.  He owns a beautiful residence on his farm, and is verb comfortably fixed.  He was engaged in the stock business for a couple of years.  In 1863 he married Miss Margaret Stevens, of Kentucky.  She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South.  Mr. Speck is an intelligent and enterprising man, and is successful in his business.
E. C. Tual, blacksmith, Arcadia, was born in Medford, Burlington Co., N.J., in February, 1832 and is the son of Samuel and Elizabeth Tual, both natives of New Jersey, and of French-English descent.  The great-great-grandfather was born in Germany, and immigrated to New Jersey, from whence this branch of the family sprung.  The great-grandfather and grandfather were both born in New Jersey.  The latter was in the Revolutionary War.  He lived and died in New Jersey.  He was a farmer by occupation.  The father was a carpenter by trade, which he followed nearly all his days.  He served in the War of 1812, and died in 1860.  The mother died several years previous.  They were the parents of nine children, six of whom are now living:  Martha (resides in Hattenfield, N.J.), Ezra C., Samuel (Toledo, Ohio), Elizabeth (in Bordentown, N.J.), Elwood (in West Unity, Ohio), George (in Hattenfield, H.J.).  Those deceased are Charles, Angeline and Hattie.  The subject of this sketch was raised in Burlington County, N.J., received a liberal education.  At the age of sixteen years he went to learn the blacksmith’s trade, and served a four years apprenticeship, afterward following his trade in New Jersey until 1853, when he went to Australia.  Later, he was engaged in mining and blacksmithing through Australia, South American and the Indies.  He remained in this climate until 1859, when he retuned to New Jersey, and in the same year traveled west, stopping about two years in Illinois.  In 1859 he came to Missouri, and located in Arcadia, Iron County, where he has since made his home, with the exception of a few years.  He spent about two years in Montana and the Black Hills, being engaged in mining and blacksmithing.  He has been a citizen of Iron County since 1859.  Mr. Tual was married in 1853 to Viana Evans, a native of Missouri, by whom he has seven children, six now living: Selden, George, Charles, Elwood, Gracie and Willie.  The one deceased was Fannie.  Mrs. Tual is member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South.  Mr. Tual is an enterprising and successful man.
Father L. C. Wernert, of the Arcadia College, was born in Alleghany City, Penn., November 3, 1852, and is the son of Joseph and Teresa (Schieb) Wernert, both natives of Germany.  They immigrated to America in their youth, and located in Alleghany City, where they were married and where they resided all their lives.  The father died in 1854, and the mother in 1869.  They were the parents of three children, only two are now living:  John who resides in Paw Paw, Van Buren County, Mich. and Lawrence C.  The father of these children was a contractor and builder, which trade he learned in the old country.  He put up quite a number of buildings in Alleghany City.  Father L. C. Wernert was reared in Alleghany City, Penn., and there he received his education.  He was employed in a dry goods store in that city for three years, and in 1868 he entered St. Francis Seminary, Milwaukee, Wis., and was ordained in 1876.  He was immediately appointed assistant to Father Hennesy, of Iron Mountain, and remained there until 1880.  He was then appointed pastor at Arcadia and surroundings.  This is one of the largest Catholic institutions in the State of Missouri outside of the large cities.  The school and church organization were both in prosperous condition.
Isaac G. Whitworth, Sr. ex-county treasurer and merchant, was born in Madison County, Ga., November 19, 1816, and is the son of Winston and Sarah (Albright) Whitworth, the former a native of North Carolina, and the latter a native of Georgia.  In 1819 they immigrated to Cape Girardeau County, Mo., in wagons, and were several weeks making the trip.  They located near Perry County, where they remained only a few years, being one of the early settlers of that county.   In 1827 they removed to Madison County, where they purchased a farm, and there remained until Mr. Whitworth’s death, which occurred at the age of eight-three years in 1870.  The mother died in 1884, aged eighty-seven years.  Of their twelve children, eight grew to maturity, and six are now living: Isaac G., Elizabeth, John A., William D., Polly W. and George W.  Isaac G. Whitworth remained on his father’s farm until twenty years of age.  When he engaged in saddling and blacksmithing and keeping groceries at the same time, for about eight years, and then went back to the farm, where he married, and where he followed agricultural pursuits for about ten years. He also engaged in lumbering and milling.  His marriage, which occurred in 1846, was to Miss Nancy B. White, a native of Madison County.  To them were born nine children, six now living, John W., Mary J., James M., William Ho., Sarah P., (Mrs. W. R. Edgar) and Isaac G., Jr.   Mr. Whitworth was in the lumber business from 1858 to 1862, exclusively running a saw mill, and employing a number of men.  In 1862 he removed to Arcadia, Iron County, in order to educate his children. In 1864 he engaged in merchandising, and removed shortly afterward to Ironton, where he has since been engaged in the same business, the firm being known as Whitworth & Sons.  They carry a general line of merchandise, with a good stock.  Mr. Whitworth was elected county treasurer in 1878, and served for six consecutive years.  He has held a number of school offices, city treasurer, city councilman and was justice of the peace for a number of years while in Madison County.  Mr. and Mrs. Whitworth are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and he is also a member of the Masonic fraternity, of which he was treasurer for many years.
P. W. Whitworth, sheriff of Iron County, is a native of Madison County, Mo., born on February 26, 1856, and is the son of John A. and Pressia (White) Whitworth, both natives of Madison County, also.  The father is a tiller of the soil and still resides in his native county.  The grandparents were early settlers of that county.  P. W. Whitworth was reared to farm life, and remained at home until his marriage, which occurred March 21, 1874, to Miss Mary C. Tidwell, a native of Iron County, Mo.  This union resulted in the birth of four children: Clarence E., Charles Goff and George W.  The one deceased was named John A.  After marriage Mr. Whitworth located on a farm near Fredericktown, where he resided until 1879, when he moved to Ironton, and there has since resided.  He was engaged in mining for about two years, and clerked in the store of Whitworth & Sons for about four years.  In 1886 he was elected sheriff of Iron County, and still holds that position. He is a good citizen and a man well respected.  Mrs. Whitworth is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South.
William H. Whitworth, county treasurer and merchant, was born in Madison County, Mo., March 7, 1855, and is a son of Isaac G. Whitworth, whose sketch precedes this. William H. was reared principally in Iron County, and when quite young began assisting his father in merchandising, which business he has since followed. He was elected county treasurer in 1884, and still holds that position. He is an intelligent young man, full of energy, tact and ability.
Bernard Zwart, attorney-at-law and notary public at Ironton, Mo., is also United States Commissioner of the Circuit Court for the Eastern District of Missouri, having been appointed to that office at the termination of his term as Collector of Internal Revenue, in June 1869.   He was born near Amsterdam, Holland, September 9, 1827, and having received a liberal education, entered the banking house of Oppenheim Bros. As youngest clerk, and in less than two years, was step by step, promoted to cashier in 1845.  His parents, Lambert J. Zwart and Cecilia M. A. (Muller) Zwart, were both born in Holland, and his father was the first to introduce the use of steam, for manufacturing purposes, in his native country in 1834, having a large soap factory and oil mill, in connection therewith.  In the year stated Mr. Zwart, Sr. purchased two steam engines to run his said factories, and also a steam flour mill, and carried on business in partnership with his brother-in-law, quite extensively, but, belonging to the anti-administration party, as he was a stanch Democrat, he came frequently in controversy with officers of the government, causing repeated audiences with the King of Holland, on one of which occasions he felt compelled, by reason of the King’s ungentlemanly behavior toward him, to remind the King, that having the power, he might order him out of the palace, but that he should beware, for he (Mr. Zwart) would spend the last guilder of money he had to let the people of Holland know what a tyrant their king was.  After this he concluded to immigrate to America, arriving here with his family in 1848, provided with letters of recommendation from merchants in Amsterdam, to merchants in New Orleans, where he landed. Shortly after he started for Iowa, where he intended to locate; stopping a few days at St. Louis, the family reached Keokul about June 20, 1848, and from there started to Wappello County, where they arrived on July 4.  Mr. Zwart, Sr. bought a tract of land there and to some extent tried farming, but none of the family having any experience in that line, this was abandoned in December, 1849, the family returning to Keokuk, where Mr. Zwart, Sr. commenced business as a contractor and builder, and being a competent architect, he soon had plenty of work.  Amongst others, he built some of the first large brick store-buildings on the levee, also the old medical college and hospital.  Shortly after coming to Keokuk, Mr. Bernard Zwart, at the suggestion of Gen. (then Col.) Curtis, began to read law, applying his leisure hours for that purpose, but did not then continue the same, having more pressing business to attend to clerking for his father, who, shortly after began the construction of public works, and also began the business of lime burning, on a then newly patented plan.  It was at this time that Mr. Bernard Zwart invented some new and useful improvements in the matter of the construction of lime kilns, and obtained a patent therefore from the United States.  Shortly after, he removed to Carondelet, to superintend the erection of a kiln on his plan at that place, and it was here that Mr. Zwart, Sr. died April 30, 1860, form heart disease.  His widow followed him January 23, 1875.  The war commencing in April, 1861 all business in his line being suspended thereby.  Mr. Zwart again took up his law studies, and shortly after organized the Second Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia, at Carondelet, and was appointed captain of one of the companies, having perfected the organization of the whole regiment in ten days.  He was in active service, guarding the gunboats for a short period, when he resigned in June, 1863, to take charge of the organization of the provost-marshal’s office for the draft, at Ironton, Mo., and remained in that place until the close of the war. He then applied for admission to the bar, and having passed a satisfactory examination, he began the practice of law, in partnership with Col. James A. Greason, in 1865. In May, 1867, he was appointed Collector of Revenue for the Second Collection District of Missouri, by President Johnson, and held this office until after President Grant’s inauguration, and until June, 1869, having achieved quite a reputation in the department and an efficient and reliable officer. Having returned to the law practice in Ironton, he was April 25, 1870, admitted to practice in the Circuit Court of the United States for the Eastern District of Missouri, and on the 18th of May, 1871, also in the District Court of the United States, for the Districts of Missouri. Since then he has applied himself steadily to the practice of law, and acquired the reputation of a painstaking and able lawyer, who does not allow the interest of his clients to suffer, if work on his part can prevent it; and as a result he commands a good and paying practice. In December, 1850, he was married to Miss Cornelia M. H. Henriet, whose father was born in France, and after the fall of Napoleon I, came to Holland, and in 1848 to America. Mr. and Mrs. Zwart have five children living, the eldest, Dr. B. H. Zwart, practicing in Kansas City, and with whom is also the second son, Albert, now nearly twenty-one years old, who is employed as bookkeeper and cashier of the National Exposition Company, in Kansas City; the second child, Henriette Marie (wife of W. H. Reese), the third, Rena M. (wife of David F. reese, the Reese brothers being merchants at Ironton, Mo.) and Joseph J. A. E. Zwart, the youngest, still attending college. In 1868 Mr. Bernard Zwart was one of the delegates at large form the State of Missouri to the National Democratic Convention at New York, which nominated Messrs. Seymour and Blair as Democratic candidates for President and Vice-President that year. Mr. and Mrs. Zwart are both Catholics, and have been instrumental in securing the college at Arcadia for a convent for the Ursuline Nuns. They are in possession of and old family Bible which was published in 1746, and contains the family record since February 2, 1664, on which day the great-great-great-grandparents, in the seventh generation back, were married, and since which time the record has been kept up continuously, and in 1746 transferred from the old to the present Bible, each successive head of family recording the births, marriages and deaths of the several members, as they occurred, this record being in the Holland language. Mr. Bernard Zwart completed the work therein begun by his father, to draw a genealogical table of the whole family since 1664, at the proper places supplemented by genealogical trees, showing the different branches of the family; he has also translated into English the language the while of the record, except a few words at one place, referring to some public calamity, which words have, from old age, become illegible. This old Bible is prized very highly by the whole family, and deserves more than passing notice by reason of its age, and record of so many generations. Mr. Zwart has also been prosecuting attorney for Iron County, and was quite prominent in politics from 1865 to 1872, when, after the adoption of the amendments to the Drake constitution, by which the old citizens of the State were again enabled to exercise the right of franchise, he withdrew therefrom, and since has attended to his practice and duties connected therewith. His reputation is very high, and he is much esteemed and respected by all who know him, having always faithfully performed every trust committed to his care. In 1886 he received from his former fellow-citizens of Keokuk, Iowa, a formal invitation to attend the tri-State annual meeting of the old settlers of Keokuk and vicinity, but business preventing this, he was obliges to send his regrets for the kind regard thus shown him by his former fellow citizens of twenty years before. Being a man of good constitution, Mr. Zwart may live for many years yet to come.